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To Obtain a Copy of Nevada Criminal History Records 
 
 
 

The Nevada Criminal History Repository provides personal criminal history record 
information for the State of Nevada only. We cannot provide information for other states 
or the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). In order to obtain your State of Nevada 
record, or proof that one does not exist, please follow the instructions below. 

 
Who may request a copy of Nevada Criminal History Record Information (or proof that a 
record does not exist). 

• Only the subject of the identification record can request a copy of his or her 
own Nevada Criminal History Record Information. 

 
Please follow the instruction below on how to request a copy of Nevada Criminal History 
Record Information (or proof that a record does not exist). 

 
1. Complete the Identification File Request for Nevada Records of Criminal History 

Form, DPS-006 (PID), found on page 3. Please note, if for a couple, family, etc., 
all persons must each complete the DPS-006 form in its entirety. In addition, you 
must include the complete mailing address where the response is to be sent. 

 
2. Obtaining proof of identity, which consists of 1 fingerprint card (only an original 

card will be accepted, please do not submit copies or previously processed 
cards), complete with name, date of birth (DOB), place of birth (POB), sex, race, 
height, weight, hair color, and eye color. Fingerprints should be placed on a 
standard fingerprint card (FD-258), commonly used for applicant or law 
enforcement purposes. Please note that the fingerprint card must contain all ten 
fingerprints taken simultaneously (these are sometimes referred to as plain or flat 
impressions) and your signature must be on the card. Fingerprints must be 
taken, dated, and signed by a certified fingerprinting technician. 

 
3. Please include a $23.50 (US dollars) in the form of a money order or certified 

check made out to the Department of Public Safety. 
• Please be sure to sign where required 
• No personal checks or cash will be accepted 
• Must be for the exact amount 
• If for a couple, family, etc., please include $23.50 (US dollars) for each 

applicant. 
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4. Please staple all of the items indicated in #1, #2 and #3 (listed above) together 
and mail to the following address: 

 
Department of Public Safety 
General Services Division 

Attn: Fingerprint Support Unit 
333 West Nye Lane, Suite 100 

Carson City, Nevada 89706 
 

Please Note: If any of the above items are missing or incomplete, the request 
will be returned. 

 
Please allow approximately 45 days for processing, upon receipt by the 
Repository. 

 
5. What you will receive when the process is complete: 

• State Negative Record Response – a letter indicating that no State of Nevada 
Record was found. 

Or 
 

• State Positive Record Response – a letter indicating that a State of Nevada 
Record was located, along with the complete content of that record. 
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Department of Public Safety 
General Services Division 
Attn: Fingerprint Support Unit 
333 West Nye Lane, Suite 100 
Carson City, Nevada 89706 

 
 

IDENTIFICATION FILE REQUEST FOR 
STATE OF NEVADA RECORDS OF CRIMINAL HISTORY FORM 

 

I hereby authorize the State of Nevada Criminal History Repository to disclose 
criminal history record information, if any, within my identification file to me or the 
person or entity indicated below: 

 
Today’s Date:   

 

Please indicate the full name, address and contact information of the individual to 
be searched below (to be completed by the subject of the record). 

 
*First Name:    

 

Middle Name:    
 

*Last Name:    
 

*Mailing Address:    
Street Address 

 
 

City, State and Zip Code 
 

*Contact Phone: Contact Email:    
  

 
 

  

*Signature of Subject of Record Search *Date of Birth 
 

Please ensure mailing address is valid and accurate. Due to confidential nature of this response, mail cannot be 
forwarded. If a change of address is needed a new DPS006 Form will need to be submitted.. 
 
*Respond To:    

*Mailing Address:    
Street Address 

 
 

 

City, State and Zip Code 
 
 

Please indicate reason for request:    
(Optional) 
 

To obtain a duplicate response, the request must be within 90 days from the original date processed.  
 
The use of this form is intended to safeguard the rights of the signatory and ensure the confidentiality of the requested 
information against non-authorized disclosure. The fingerprint card accompanying this request will be used to verify 
identity. A $23.50 certified check or money order made payable to the Department of Public Safety must accompany 
each request. 

*MANDATORY FIELDS 


